Awards & Accolades for Academy of Engineering

Astronaut Challenge

2019 - 2020 - Watch the video of our students 1st place win at the Astronaut Challenge here. Worldwide Developers Conference

2020 2021 -The Astronaut Challenge team finished up this year's competition placing first in the Design Challenge, second in Patch Design and third in Flight Simulation. The support of parent advisor, Mr. William Hardesty, was instrumental to their success.

Apple's Worldwide Developers Conference

Read the article about our student Liam being chosen for Apple's Worldwide Developers Conference here.


Congratulations to the LHS Secme Team who competed at the UCF Water Bottle Rocket competition, taking home top honors with the Overall Champion. Our teams earned the top three spots and also took home the Best Drawing award. Thank you to our teacher sponsor, Mrs. Mary Acken, for leading these incredible teams.

First Place

  • Team Name: Plastic Astro Operatives

  • Lance Harmon, Jacob Henderson, Kaelyn Tindall
    UPDATE: These students also won in the national SECME competition.

Second Place

  • Team Name: Octonauts

  • Team Members: Emma Esteban, Taylor Windish, Zach Gordon

Third Place

  • Team Name: The Sea Biscuit

  • Team Members: Warner Ducheine, Carter Stahl, Emit Rice

Best Drawing

  • Team Name: Plastic Astro Operatives

  • Team Members: Lance Harmon, Jacob Henderson, Kaelyn Tindal
    UPDATE: These students also won in the national SECME competition.

NCWIT Aspirations in Computing

NCWIT Aspirations in Computing (AiC)

One of our students, Kate Walsh (12) is a recipient of the 2021 NCWIT Aspirations in Computing (AiC). Kate was selected from over 4,200 applicants from all 50 U.S. states, Washington, D.C., Guam, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, U.S. overseas military bases, and Canada. The NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing (AiC) honors 9th-12th grade students who self-identify as women, or non-binary for their computing-related achievements and interests, and encourages them to pursue their passions. Award recipients are selected based on their aptitude and aspirations in technology and computing, as demonstrated by their computing experience, computing-related activities, leadership experience, tenacity in the face of barriers to access, and plans for post-secondary education. Since 2007, more than 17,000 students have received an Award for AiC.

Technology Student Association (TSA)

Over the following week, Lyman Technology Student Association (TSA) chapter competed in the virtual Florida TSA State Conference. The chapter competed against schools from all over Florida and Lyman placed at least top 10 in 6 of the events! Below are the results:

Congratulations to:

  • Owen Szymanski with a 2nd place finish for Coding

  • Emma Esteban & Warner Ducheine with a top 10 finish for Debating Technology Issues

  • Chad Brown & Neil Mathews with a top 10 finish for On Demand Video

  • Dylan McCarthy, Lance Harmon, & Owen Szymanski with a 2nd place finish for Technology Bowl

  • Warner Ducheine with a top 10 finish for Transportation Modeling

  • Ru Esteban, David Brooks, Owen Szymanski, & Emit Rice with a top 10 finish for Video Game Design

  • TSA students will move on to compete in the virtual national competition this summer.

In addition, we greatly appreciate the advisors who made this possible: Ms. Acken and Ms. Esteban.

National Competition

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.